Need a book? Engineering books recommendations...

Return to index: [Subject] [Thread] [Date] [Author]


[Subject Prev][Subject Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next]

AASHTO actually has THREE!! different design standards:

LFD (Load Factor Design)

ASD and LFD are found in the Standard Specifications, the most current
one that I am aware of is the 1996 edition with interims through 2000.
LRFD is a separate specification, I think the first one came out in

The load factors for ASD and LFD are in table 3.21 for the various
groups.  I suspect that the LRFD spec has a similar table.

I've yet to work on a project that uses AASHTO-LRFD.

I hope this helps

Jonathan Mallard
Design Engineer
Ralph Whitehead Associates
(804) 794-1185 
(804) 378-0923 FAX

******* ****** ******* ******** ******* ******* ******* ***
*   Read list FAQ at:
*   This email was sent to you via Structural Engineers 
*   Association of Southern California (SEAOSC) server. To 
*   subscribe (no fee) or UnSubscribe, please go to:
*   Questions to seaint-ad(--nospam--at) Remember, any email you 
*   send to the list is public domain and may be re-posted 
*   without your permission. Make sure you visit our web 
*   site at: 
******* ****** ****** ****** ******* ****** ****** ********